Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Break Free!


some scholars wrote long ago
that there’s no such thing as an original thought.
i hate to agree with this sentiment
but as i look around me i discover
identical clones lying constantly by denying resemblance to one another.
i see black people
with hair in braids, weaves, and locks,
i see a multitude of the generation defined by hip-hop,
blindly bobbing their heads to BS such as “Lollipop”
and refusing to get any information
from any source other than
a rapper’s sound bite, the radio, or Fox.
i feel funny pointing fingers to tell the truth,
sitting here claiming that there’s been destruction of our youth
because i too have been infiltrated,
spoon-fed lies to control my militant mind turning to mush,
signing away my life to join the army of the uninformed,
claiming to be original but at the same time feeling torn cuz
even my natural hair ain’t original if that’s how i was born cuz
i am by no means the first to claim to be conscious
while being an active consumer of the same objects
that have been used to oppress
not just blacks, but all people.

searching for answers i run toward the nearest steeple,
fall to my knees praying to God to provide
and He whispers in my ear and commands me to realize
that both my positive and negative actions are first birthed in my own mind
and if i really want change, it’s up to me to decide
what i accept.
today i accept
originality
because regardless of what scholars say, there has to be,
there should be,
at least i hope there could be
a way to make change,
rub the chicken grease and sunflower seeds off of my tainted brain,
eliminate the tick tock of my CP time watch
and turn down the bass so my stereo system in the trunk stops
drowning out my knowledge,
numbing my creativity,
and allowing the media to define what i am to be,
what i should be,
or at least what i could be.

today is the day that i break free!

4 responses

  1. Tammy

    WOW Farah! That was good. Not only was it beautiful, it is so true. Just reading it makes me want to break free from so many things in my life right now. You are really talented. Girl you need to put this stuff in books and magazines. I will check out the rest of the poems later, but “break free” was good.

    Thanks for the inspriation,
    Love, Rev

    July 11, 2008 at 12:32 pm

  2. amoreme

    Wow…you are a brilliant poet. I don’t know what to say…amazing.

    July 11, 2008 at 2:01 pm

  3. pearlsfrompain

    Thank you both!

    July 14, 2008 at 12:07 pm

  4. stript

    Love your stuff! Pearls from pain, led me to know you would be worthwhile. Read your jaunt about love. As I read it, I kept thinking that having love is great, until you miss those moments for freedom, of not answering to someone else…of just being. Don’t know where you are, but sure hope your performing!

    July 30, 2008 at 2:50 am

Leave a Reply

