Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Await the Day


i await the day that you will
need me,
that me being a part of your life
is so much more
than regular routine,
but more like a route
to everything
that makes this life worth living.
although it hurts to stretch,
i want you
to fill me with your love,
reach so far that you erase
my hurt and heartaches
from past people who didn’t know the right way
to expand my feelings, who abused my willingness
to try and my inability to stray.
don’t run away,
just stay a little longer,
let me show you how i can be a woman,
how i’m not just a girl,
but someone to make you feel complete.
i see us leaping, jumping
into new horizons,
the purple and pink and orange we create
in the sky without any clouds to bring rain
on our union.

it’s so clear now–
you’re slipping away,
leaving me and
i don’t want you to go,
but something about the way
you’re drifting
tells me that you’re serious this time.
i wish we had more time
to explore and discover,
to be more than casual lovers but truly
there for one another.
please, consider reconsidering
so that you can relieve me of the shivering
that occurs when you are not near.
as you walk away,
i already feel cold.
bring me your warmth from your spark,
fill up the room of my vessel
so that i never feel dark again.

touch my heart again,
let me romance you,
let me convince you
that you are making a mistake.
damn i hate
to beg but you’re leaving me
with no choice. the voice
of our love is hoarse
and me, i just want you
to come back.
i feel empty and without a soul
when i walk around with half of you in my body
and the other half floating beyond my control.
let’s unite and promise to keep it together
because to be honest, we need each other.

self,
i’ve been without you for too long,
forgot who you were
under the guise of being strong
and in my pursuit to survive,
i lost sight
of who you were
and the fact that i need me
and i await the day
when me will come back to this body
so that i can be whole again
rather than begging for the friend
of myself that i
lost and can’t seem to regain.

3 responses

  1. heroheroinex

    i love this!

    July 25, 2008 at 12:12 am

  2. telmcg

    This is so amazing and so deep. This piece speaks to a host of emotions that I’m feeling right now, but I love the many levels on which this poem can be interpreted. Is it a poem to the self, or is it a poem to a lover who is slipping away, only to culminate in the realization that it is the self we have always denied yet simultaneously longed for.

    This seems like a tough, complex subject, but you put it together very well and tie up any loose ends nicely while still leaving it open to interpretation. I love it.

    July 26, 2008 at 11:54 pm

  3. pearlsfrompain

    Hmm…interesting interpretation 🙂 The poem can be viewed either way. My original intent was for the poem to be to myself, but it can mean different things depending on the reader. Thanks for your feedback!

    July 27, 2008 at 2:05 am

Leave a Reply

