Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Love Longing


i want love in such a strong way
that i find it hard to be happy
for people who are in love,
i scoff at public displays
of affection, protest
Valentine’s Day,
and my overwhelming desire for it
inevitably turns to scorn.
love is an emotion and action
with the power to incite other actions and feelings:
envy, jealously, depression, joy, and hate
and i wonder if it is my fate
to be without love for this long,
to only express and feel it from
family, close friends, and slow songs.
it’s not enough–where is my lover?
where is that amazing brother
who will sweep me off of my feet?
my toes are tired from staying on the ground,
my heart is bored from regular beats.
my fantasies have even gone on vacation because
they’re tired of working so hard at chasing
my dreams that are so far from reality.
i am tired
and sometimes hopeless
but still wanting,
still desiring that loaded four-letter word,
the overused and abused three-letter phrase,
the intoxicated infatuation-feeling state
that is so different from the life i am living now.
i await the date and time when i will no longer
think of love and be angry,
when i will think of it and smile because it will no longer be a mere
thought or musing,
something intangible, hurtful, and confusing
but a part
of me.

3 responses

  1. Fire

    just in case I haven’t told you in a while…I think you’re great

    July 30, 2008 at 3:04 pm

  2. pearlsfrompain

    Aww, thank you, sis 🙂

    July 30, 2008 at 3:12 pm

  3. Victor A.

    This joint is the truth…I just wrote like two new pieces, that sort of respond (ironically) to a lot of what you speak of…again, I say…this joint is ill!

    July 31, 2008 at 2:00 am

Leave a Reply

