Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Soul Vagabond


sometimes i can’t surpass the thought
that i am incomplete,
that there is something
wrong with me
because as much as i desperately need
and want certain things
in my life i am left with my hands empty.
my mind is full but my soul is hungry,
panhandling for fulfillment,
writing signs for help,
and sleeping in the cold with no avail.
i pray for the day when i won’t fail
to appreciate my personality and life,
when i won’t look as my imperfections as
additions to the list of issues i need to fix,
but that i will embrace them,
wear them proudly
and love them as much as
i want someone to love me.

3 responses

  1. amanda

    sooo pretty ❤

    August 9, 2008 at 1:42 am

  2. lilkunta

    I feel this way too. For while –actually a long while– I was doubtful & lost. All my life to go to med school & become a Dr was what I wanted. Then I didnt like it & wondered if I was just going this avenue to please the family. Did I want it or had I been raised to think that I wanted it.

    So when I left that route & did that which I loved, still I was feeling lost.

    Weirdly, I yearned for the “decided” path that I left. >>Sigh<<

    August 14, 2008 at 8:50 am

  3. Interesting–life is difficult that way. Sometimes it’s the “grass is greener on the other side” type mentality, but other times, it’s the curiosity of whether we’re living for other people.

    August 14, 2008 at 10:28 am

Leave a Reply

