Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

This is Your Brain


i get upset as my brain cells fry
and before the cooking of my
intelligence is finished,
my consciousness has mysteriously diminished.
with each expletive, reference to the club, clothes and sex
i exchange the logical portion of my identity
for an apathetic, watered-down version of me.
foolishness is hidden in tight beats
craftily slipping each listener a mickey,
one that has adverse effects seen in the bobbing of their heads
and the memorization of lyrics of the dead
that they had no intention of mummifying in their minds
but this is a narcotic of a different kind,
providing a high that causes its users to sing along
to choruses that they once swore were dumb.
i am going through withdrawal.
music as an art form is so powerful
and yet, it’s being conquered and corrupted violently.
i want music that will romance me,
take me on trips to other lands, even if only for 4 minutes,
transport me on journeys to rivers of reminiscence;
tunes that welcome my memory to linger on positive times,
composition that will be vitamins to my mind,
enabling my growth and health,
not music that numbs my true self.
i no longer want to be lost in lyrics of defilement,
to be the main character on a public service announcement
that has back-to-back reruns that just won’t stop
saying: “This is your brain…”
and when the radio beat drops,
“This is your brain on hip-hop.”

3 responses

  1. Amy

    I came across your blog while doing research for our website/blog on brain injury. I wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed your verse, and while I understand your message that lyrics can often shift emphasis from “cerebral” to “material,” a brain on music would most likely be the first example, as music has been shown to strengthen the brain and increase cognitive function. Here’s a link to a blog post, about halfway down it talks about the benefits of music…
    http://www.brainandspinalcord.org/blog/2008/07/this-weeks-qa-7/
    I hear you though, it’s easy to see people get carried away with the superficial messages and put personal development on the back burner.

    August 12, 2008 at 12:50 pm

  2. lilkunta

    amy Farah’s point went over your head. Yes music is great, great to study too, exercise too, sleep to, etc. However listening to all the sh*t that is 2days’s music MOST DEFINITELY is tthe smaller brain F included.

    August 12, 2008 at 8:01 pm

  3. lilkunta

    Farah: AMEN AMEN AMEN. Ive been disgusted with music for awhile. Last year when every1 from 3yr old kids to senior citzens were ‘crank dat’ -ing like it was no big deal I was pissed off. THat 16yr old punk shouldnt be having sex, & if he is wth is heing doing ejaculating on a girl’s back? Where do ppl come up with this stuff? I DONT wanna make love in the club, and come near me w/ your lollipop & Ill cut it off.

    This is why I listen to my LaurynHill & IndiaArie exclusively. When I do lsiten 2 radio, its WPFW or 96.3 or 102.3.

    I feel u on this!

    August 12, 2008 at 8:23 pm

Leave a Reply

