Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

The Run-In


I had all sort of
images in my mind
of what I would do
if I ever ran into you,
but when the night finally came,
I didn’t know what to do.
I was scared to look back,
fearing that you would be
watching me walking forward
and pull me back
just when I thought I was moving forward.
I have dreamt
of cussing you out
and telling you about yourself,
of killing you
despite my fear of going to jail,
but when I saw you
I wondered what the hell
about you made me shrink within myself.
I wish I could go back
and use my voice this time around,
but by the time I worked past my fear and turned around,
you had disappeared into thick city air
and now I wonder
if in fact it was you that was really there.
If it was,
then I’m glad our reunion has come to an end,
but if it wasn’t,
I’ll live in the anxiety of seeing you again.
I hate you and wish your life would end
so my time of scared life will stop so I can
breathe again.

4 responses

  1. blackwingedconvolution

    Nice one.

    August 15, 2008 at 4:01 am

  2. I love it. Especially the last 3 lines, totally relate to that one.

    August 15, 2008 at 3:32 pm

  3. Natalie goldberg wrote that a good writer is one who is willing to dig a pit, climb down into it, and then call all the wild creatures down there with her. Thank you for being such a person.
    Elizabeth

    August 15, 2008 at 5:57 pm

  4. Thank you all for your kind words.

    August 18, 2008 at 1:28 am

Leave a Reply

