Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Goodbye, Hopelessness


it’s hard for me to
get my hopes up
because i’m used to hopes bringing me
down,
dragging me
through dark alleys
that i don’t want to go
and leaving me
without a road-map to get home.
i’m used to the positive being negative
and the negative becoming neutral
so that sadness is not out of the norm,
but considered natural.
i’m trying to reverse the meaning of hope,
redefine it in my dictionary of experiences
so i can fully experience this
concept that takes audacity to achieve.
to believe that good is going to happen
is so much more scary than expecting the worst.
but still i beat the dust out of my traveling pants,
hoping for the delights of life
like romance,
second chances,
happiness advances
and dances in the rain,
life without the feeling of being insane.
hope will change
my outlook and help me get past
this redundant page
in my book and onto the next.

goodbye, hopelessness.

2 responses

  1. Hope you image hopelessness, stumbling away under the load of his attendant followers packed in an oversize backpack strapped on both of his shoulders. Wave goodbye and point in the direction of the nearest ocean and say, “that way, and good swimming.”

    Elizabeth

    August 19, 2008 at 2:05 pm

  2. Thanks, Elizabeth 🙂

    August 19, 2008 at 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

