Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Unwanted Guest


i thought this stress was
over
but it seems to be
busting into the seams of my skin
without permission.
i thought it packed a bag and traveled
far away
but today i question if it ever left.
this feels like death
or maybe just illness to the happiness
that i had so much missed
because i was depressed.
but i won’t allow this stress
to control me.
love is so much more
powerful,
so much stronger,
so i’ll dwell in houses of affection
until my heart no longer hurts,
til my body no longer rejects
foreign objects to which i’m familiar,
til there comes a time when God
heals the wounds,
the frustration, the hurt,
wiping away my tears,
calming my fears,
and whispering in my ear
that stress no longer lives
here.

5 responses

  1. I just wrote two pages about coming out of couch potato status and knowing I am a force to reckoned with. Whew! Do I know what you are talking about? Hang on, “this too, shall pass.” I really love coming here and knowing there is another person somewhere out there, who would understand.

    Elizabeth

    Elizabeth

    August 23, 2008 at 10:14 am

  2. Thanks! That really means a lot to me and I am happy that someone out there can relate to what I’m goin through.

    August 23, 2008 at 1:17 pm

  3. I stumbled my way here, and as soon as I saw what your were doing, I was hooked. I started last year, on my bday and kept it up, one poem a day, for about four months. Have done it a couple of times before, but last year, I seemed to hit some sort of vein and loved it. I am now putting those pieces up on Myspace page, and with a whole year between then and now, I still am amazed at what happened. Oh, I am a former writing instructor and never once, when I challenged my students to do this, did I get any takers. So, my hat is off to you. I know the difficulty and the issues that arise.

    Elizabeth

    August 23, 2008 at 11:01 pm

  4. 1sojournal

    You have prompted me to do something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. Thanks again,

    Elizabeth

    August 24, 2008 at 12:17 pm

  5. That’s awesome. And I’ll check out your Myspace page when I get a chance. Thanks for all the positive feedback!

    August 24, 2008 at 3:08 pm

Leave a Reply

