Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Smile Serum


can i be the cause
of the corners of your mouth rising?
my body feels like hiding
while my heart feels like seeking
and my mind feels like peeking
into the pandora’s box of possibilities.
allow me to reintroduce myself…
not as scared girl but brave woman,
lady of strength without having to build walls,
image of femininity,
beautiful love child,
possessor of the ability to make you smile.
stick around for a while and see what comes next–
if i can move from your facial expression
to where you tell me to go.
for now, i diminish my obsession
to control the past and i’ll hold on to the future
without anticipating disappointment.
where will the smiles go?
only God knows…
so i’ll trust and be me happily ever after
and glow from the laughter
and simple words all the while
being the cause
of your smile.

One response

  1. 1sojournal

    We,you and I, must be walking on parallel paths, the synchronicity is awesome! I wrote a poem, last night, to someone who put a smile on my face, and a hum in my veins with a few simple words. Thank you again for this poem and the smiles of recognition. You told me yesterday to be blessed. Without a doubt, I am, but then so are you.

    Elizabeth

    August 26, 2008 at 9:53 am

Leave a Reply

