Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Fire Fighter


i feel so pent up.
sometimes i just burn with lust
and it hurts.
it scathes and scars the continents of my mind
because these thoughts of mine
exist below the equator,
equating to a level i don’t want to admit exists.
i am sizzling, smoking, sputtering, smoldering
hoping for the day where i feel something colder than
what i feel now.
wishing for water to put this inferno out.
imagining a time when i can speak these thoughts and not pretend
and the beloved listener who is also my friend will understand
and extinguish my embers in the name of love,
fan the desire in my flesh and even watch my flames spread.
then once the wildness in me burns all that is around,
hold me until the next time this spark comes around
and i won’t be scared of the heat because he’ll be around,
coming to my rescue
as the sirens sound.

6 responses

  1. 1sojournal

    Whew!!!!!!! Okay, I’m fanning my face, lol. Just hope you realize that the heat you are feeling is a direct consequence of the life you are creating. Don’t hope for that coldness too much, we all find it much sooner than intended. Enjoy it, celebrate it, you’ve earned it. Would like to tell you this is a very good piece, but someone might mistakenly think that was innuendo, lol.

    Elizabeth

    August 27, 2008 at 2:00 am

  2. sarah AR10

    i like the raw and passionate feelings that came across. very honest. I wondered were you been too, my xanga digest has been down ;).

    August 27, 2008 at 8:27 am

  3. @ Elizabeth – Lol, I purposely played with the line of innuendo 🙂

    @ Sarah – 🙂

    August 27, 2008 at 10:54 am

  4. 1sojournal

    Thank you, I needed that >>/

    August 27, 2008 at 12:01 pm

  5. 1sojournal

    Could we maybe exchange emails?

    Elizabeth

    August 27, 2008 at 2:08 pm

  6. I can be contacted at pearlsfrompain@gmail.com

    August 28, 2008 at 6:18 pm

Leave a Reply

