Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Night Journeys


i learned a long time ago
to not get my hopes up
when i have dreams
about men.
what i see in my sleep
always seems to negate reality,
tricks me into pondering possibilities
of relationships that will never be.
my dreams make a fool of me,
bringing to life my innermost desires,
thoughts that remain unspoken.
they are like gossiping, so-called friends
who pretend
to be confidants
only to get the goods on me.
these night journeys are no good for me.
maybe tonight i’ll move one step ahead
and refuse to go to bed,
let my eyes get heavy with hunger for sleep
while inwardly finally feeling
peace.
One response

  1. Really like this piece, the flow, the structure, the image, and the topic itself.

    Elizabeth

    September 5, 2008 at 10:25 pm

Leave a Reply

