Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Consequence of a Storm


my plans slipped from my hands and
plopped into a muddy puddle.
being a seeker, i feel compelled
to roll up my sleeves and fish them out
but being a germophobe,
the thought of getting my hands dirty
repulses me.
i can imagine the grime that would be stuck
under my fingernails for months,
seeping out each time i touched my face
or put my hands together to pray.
i could see ruining my favorite clothes
with stains that won’t go away with two wash cycles
and Lord knows i don’t have money for drycleaning.
so here i am staring at a nasty pile of water
that gets murkier by the minute
and i’m stuck.
it’s raining on my head,
my socks are wet,
and my dreams sink further
than i can see.

2 responses

  1. bomi

    wow, that’s how I feel when I have a mind block and I know I’m supposed to be doing something. You’ve written it beautifully my dear. I enjoy your blog.

    September 9, 2008 at 11:27 pm

  2. Like this one a lot. Good imagery and play on words. And certainly can identify with this place.

    Elizabeth

    September 10, 2008 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

