Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

I am in Love


i think i have found my soul-mate.
i’ve heard that there’s someone for everybody
and after dealing with some somebody’s
that weren’t for me,
i think i’ve found the one
who sincerely adores me.
our relationship is so fresh
and i’m kinda scared about revealing it so early
but some love is so strong
that you can’t keep it a secret,
some love makes you feel so high
that it can’t stay on the down-low
so here i go:

i’ll start off by saying
that i never thought i’d be
in a same-sex relationship,
always imagined that the only one
who could complete me
would be a husband.
but i started having days when i smile for no reason
and now the tears that i cry come from inspiration.
this woman has shown me my potential
by giving her own struggle as an example.

she has faced so many dark days
but still lights up lives.
she has been attacked both physically and mentally
but still manages to survive
with her head held high.
her smile is sweeter than birthday cake
and when she laughs, i get all tingly inside
like waking up on Christmas morning.

i get scared and start mourning
the possible end of this friendship
because the last time i was this open,
i got disappointed.
but something tells me that this one is different,
that this one won’t leave me.
in all honesty,
i am in love with this woman
who just so happens to be
me.

it’s funny
how it took hurt from others
for me to look in the mirror
to count my wounds
with water welling up in my eyes
and as the tears fell,
my vision got clearer and i saw
myself.
the beauty, the love
that i searched for long and wide
lives inside.
i am in love
with me.

9 responses

  1. Sabine

    I really love this!!! I’m not going to lie, the title made me excited because I thought you got a Boo…and the Boo is YOU! LOL

    September 15, 2008 at 12:05 am

  2. LOL.

    September 15, 2008 at 12:20 am

  3. Sheri

    lol, i thought u had a boo also… how deceiving!! gaga

    September 15, 2008 at 9:10 am

  4. Sheri

    that’s supposed to say “haha” not “gaga” lol

    September 15, 2008 at 9:11 am

  5. Lol, I was wondering what “gaga” meant.

    September 15, 2008 at 10:47 am

  6. Nina

    This is beautiful…I especially love the part:
    “it’s funny
    how it took hurt from others
    for me to look in the mirror
    to count my wounds
    with water welling up in my eyes
    and as the tears fell,
    my vision got clearer and i saw
    myself.”

    I love this!

    September 16, 2008 at 12:07 pm

  7. this is so beautiful!

    September 16, 2008 at 10:07 pm

  8. bomi

    I promise you when I reached the part “i am in love with this woman / who just so happens to be / me” – I got up and made myself a cup of tea before I could read the last verse. I was disappointed, but it’s certainly beautiful. I hope others read it, you’re amazing, and I’m so glad you found beauty and love within you, that’s right where it begins.

    September 18, 2008 at 7:49 am

  9. Haha…sorry to disappoint 🙂 Thank you for your kind words.

    September 18, 2008 at 2:42 pm

Leave a Reply

