Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

This Big Ol’ Booty of Mine


upheld fists in the air no longer capture
all of what is me.
my booty holds the power
in this butt-clenching society.
in a world that is straight and narrow,
my backside is characterized by curves.
it stays full even when i am empty,
keeps me conscious of what’s behind me
as i move forward.

this big ol’ booty of mine,
a source of self-consciousness at one time,
is now where i hold my pride.
each cheek is a container for my accomplishments.
i am woman all the way
as this convex cavern of flesh sits heavily
between the stretch of my hips.
oh the miles we have seen
as we traveled one step at a time
and sometimes sprinted
on journeys of discovery:
stopping to rest on sex
and then rising on beauty,
making trips again and again
to find and redefine my identity.

today this version of me
loves her big ol’ booty.
i embrace it in all of its round glory
and know that i don’t need
affirmation or compliments
to be content.
even when i want to be stiff, it shakes
causing an earthquake that makes heads turn
in the aftershock of my presence.
i used to call it a curse
but now unwrap it like a present.
God put His foot in it when He made me
sweeter than molasses and thick as an oak tree.
each curve on me
represents the hurdles i complete.

one day all women
will turn their necks to look
at what rests between their backs and their legs
and re-awaken that section
that we all at one time
allowed to be dead.
there is power in resurrection
and in the connection to my beautiful body–
my skin, my smile, my hair,
my breasts, my eyes, my hips
and even my belly
but most of all
this big ol’ booty.

6 responses

  1. Pingback: This Big Ol’ Booty of Mine | jdTVu

  2. seeingsounds

    beautiful big ol’ booty… peace… stay creating and creative!

    September 30, 2008 at 11:57 pm

  3. binahkaye joy

    i love it! you know as a bootyist i am overjoyed that you are claiming your booty power! keep it coming, lots of love and more booty!

    October 1, 2008 at 1:31 pm

  4. Oh, you got one of those too! (chuckles) love this one – now i have to come to your blog everyday – you got me hooked 🙂

    October 20, 2008 at 3:18 pm

  5. thecrimsonthread

    Wow! I love my booty even more now – and your drawing is great.
    True words of empowerment 🙂

    December 1, 2008 at 6:34 am

  6. Yay! I’m glad you were empowered.

    December 1, 2008 at 10:31 am

Leave a Reply

