Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Into Me


he’s just not that into me
or maybe
i’m just not that into me.
i invest in the exterior,
keep up images and expectations,
but when it comes to treating my inside,
i’m deaf, dumb, and blind.
i am spiritually numb,
which back in the day would have bothered me
but recently more often than not
i shrug it off–i’m way too busy.
i stand on my feet and grind all day
and the thought of dropping to my knees
to close my eyes and pray
doesn’t hold much priority.
this kind of disturbs me.

my sister said to me that
i’m a precious gem
and i believed her
until i became a rhinestone
just to get next to him
and he pawned me in
for another stone
who knew her own value.

i want to be into me,
have the ability to live and speak freely,
not censoring myself and my identity
to suit those around me.
my life depends on it,
my mind depends on it,
my heart beats pulses of hope
that resonate and reverberate.
i gotta truly love me fully
before it’s too late.

2 responses

  1. I stumbled upon your blog and this is an awesome poem. Keep on writing, even if you might think no one is reading. I am looking forward to enjoying more of your work!

    October 19, 2008 at 3:37 pm

  2. maelinat

    A masterpiece dear. Truly into you… :>) A gem: well, you can believe it.
    Thank you.

    October 20, 2008 at 1:00 am

Leave a Reply

