Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

What Am I Afraid Of?


i’m so scared of pursuing my dreams.
i don’t know what it is that
i’m really afraid of.
it’s not failure
because i know what that feels like
and i have learned enough strength and felt enough strain
to stiffen my back and jaw
and start over again.
is it success?
not quite sure.
i rather enjoy the opening of new doors
and my brain craves the territories i could possibly explore.
i think what it boils down to is that
i am afraid of me.
i am not only unaware of my own potential,
but my own depths.
i usually only express the surface level of each facet,
afraid to drill in deep.
i am a frozen body of water–
when my ice is broken,
my disturbingly cold interior is endless
and i’m scared it’ll kill me.
not literally, but figuratively
to state it simply
i am afraid
of me.

One response

  1. Hey Farah, we truly are on some parrallel wave length. I do agree that I am afraid of me and just what I might do next. At least its not a dull life we live, right?

    Elizabeth

    October 18, 2008 at 2:39 pm

Leave a Reply

