Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

A Prayer For The Stranger Who is My Husband


God, i pray for my husband–
that he will be logical
and strong enough
to handle
me.
sometimes i operate so emotionally
that i treat my heart with irresponsibility,
not only wearing it on my sleeve
but throwing it at the back of a man’s head
in moments of distress,
hoping that once it bounces off
and leaves a knot,
i will feel at rest.
i will need a husband
whose skull will be hard enough
to counter mine,
who will pick up my heart after it’s been thrown,
brush the dust off with gentle hands
and place it back in my chest
to beat calmly again;
one who possesses
a gentle enough face
for me to feel a twinge of guilt
for wanting to make him pay
unjustly for my
distorted perceptions of the truth;
a husband who
will love me out of the habit
of abusing the most crucial organ in my body
and give a long enough embrace
to keep my restored heart
in its proper place,
and pull me out of the way
of thinking that tells me
that violence is a way to be heard,
show me the true meaning of love
that in today’s society seems absurd.
i pray that he is a teacher,
a fighter,
a healer,
a lover,
a meditator,
a mediator,
a thinker
and a son
who like a piece of clay,
You have molded and shaped
into a pot
that even in my emotional states,
i am unable
to break.

6 responses

  1. ebbtide

    Powerfully written. This is so forceful and heartfelt.

    October 31, 2008 at 12:59 am

  2. Thank you!

    November 1, 2008 at 1:37 am

  3. bomi

    Wow, Farah! I pray for the same, but you put it so wonderfully. A well crafted piece of dreams…
    “who will pick up my heart after it’s been thrown,
    brush the dust off with gentle hands
    and place it back in my chest”
    Beautiful!
    May we find such… or may such find us 🙂

    November 2, 2008 at 7:10 am

  4. Thanks, Bomi! And yes, I hope we both do find this one day.

    November 2, 2008 at 6:55 pm

  5. C.adence

    You took the words right out of my head … Wow. Well done, Farah. I can’t wait to thank God for answering this prayer!!!

    December 2, 2008 at 4:24 pm

  6. WOWWWWWW!

    December 12, 2008 at 3:44 am

Leave a Reply

