Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Note of Confession


i am by no means perfect.
if i wanted to be fair i would
write out a list of my flaws
and hand it to all who wish to get involved
in any shape or fashion
with me.

i want to guard my heart but
feel i should be straight up–
stop eager and expecting souls
from getting their hopes up,
shrink their enthusiasm
so it can’t change to disappointment
as they wait for phones to ring
and emails to be answered
and schedules to clear up
and get disappointed
like a teenager waiting up
for Santa Claus.

i wear a costume of love,
the cape of the concerned
and my powers are proving to be ineffective.
i want to care
but i am stretched in so many ways
that my strength is diluted.
my mind is polluted
with thoughts of me and what i need
and when i see how many times i have hurt others,
my eyes bleed.
i apply the hydrogen peroxide of pride
and keep it moving;
regret leaves me stuck on dance floors
but i keep on grooving,
two-stepping toward a brighter tomorrow.

maybe next week, i’ll be able to balance my life
and the hearts i have borrowed
and forgotten to return
like old library books
whose fees are increasing.
i feel the urgency caused by time decreasing
and life depleting
and relationships screaming for attention.

i write notes to confess to them:
the individuals i have hurt
and those who haven’t felt it yet
and somehow when they are read,
the ones who truly care
love me no less.

maybe there is hope.

2 responses

  1. malcolmjames

    My, my, my, I’d like to see that list. I love the pace of this piece and the way it all comes together. Is there something out there for us? Someone? At least I know there’s someone else out there who wonders like I do. Thank YOU.

    Malcolm

    December 1, 2008 at 11:50 pm

  2. Lol, you don’t want to see the list 🙂 Thank you, though. Wondering souls unite!

    December 2, 2008 at 12:01 am

Leave a Reply

