Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

I Have a Secret


i have a secret, but don’t tell nobody.
i want you to…

kiss me.

maybe it was the spark in your eye
or the fact that night was crawling upon us,
tickling the side of my neck,
but as i glanced at you,
i wished i could be honest
and reach over and speak to you
with my lip language
to find out if you were fluent.

but maybe you know more than me.
open up your classroom and i’ll be your student,
the one who knows everything and nothing
at the same time.
i will be first in line
to register for your class and sit in the front
every Monday thru Friday
and pass notes with drawn hearts connecting
your name and my name
and raise my hand always
so you can look my way.

i have a secret, but don’t tell nobody.
those who know me well know
that i don’t like to be controlled
or told what to do,
but i want you to…

take me.

do with me what you wish to
as long as i get to…

kiss you,

connect my sense of touch
with the mental satisfaction you’ve thus
provided so far because
so far,
you’ve pulled my desire like a shoe string
and i’m secretly hoping
that the next time i see you,
you’ll see through
what my eyes try to hide
and honor me for just one time
and promise that this secret
will be yours and mine
and our lips combined
will be…

sealed.

7 responses

  1. Pingback: I Have a Secret | jdTVu

  2. malcolmjames

    I love the shoe string line, as I can see just how smoothly someone might pull you in. I really enjoyed this.

    December 3, 2008 at 11:34 pm

  3. Thanks!

    December 4, 2008 at 12:43 am

  4. ebbtide

    nicely put!

    December 4, 2008 at 2:47 pm

  5. Thank you.

    December 5, 2008 at 10:16 am

  6. javajune

    Beautifully written. I hope you get that kiss.
    jj

    December 6, 2008 at 5:54 pm

  7. Thanks…I hope so too 🙂

    December 6, 2008 at 8:37 pm

Leave a Reply

