Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Which One Am I?


why do fools fall in love?
and since i refuse to do the above,
does that make me wise?

if so, at times i wish i would be brave enough
to be a fool again,
to take risks with the chance of falling on my face,
to have another opportunity to make beautiful mistakes
and memories that keep me awake
because sleep could never compete
with the dream i’d be living.

why do fools fall in love?
and since i refuse to do the above,
does that make me wise?

perhaps if wise also means burned
and fearful
and doubtful of the possibility.
i will be wise for the rest of my life
it means no one could hurt me;
even if it leaves me solitary,
gaining excitement solely from following stars in the night,
pushing me toward what i know is right
and ignoring all that might
take me out of my knowledge
and consume me with the most nonsensical emotion
to ever exist.

i’m too young to be wise
yet too hurt to be a fool;
too scared to be in love,
yet too optimistic to be cynical.
i am neither of the two–
swimming between both islands of maturity,
hoping that by the time the land touches my feet,
i will be comfortable where i am
and just be.

7 responses

  1. Fortunately enough we don’t choose to fall in love – it comes and hit us as it will

    And I heard some saying that leaving peacefully on the top of the himalayas is very easy but if you cannot go down to the market place and bring your wiseness, maturity and peace there – it’s worth nothing

    December 10, 2008 at 7:19 am

  2. Mm…that is interesting. I do agree with you that falling in love isn’t always a choice, but I think that the act of loving someone is.

    December 10, 2008 at 11:45 am

  3. well, true.. we can chose to ignore the feeling of love (or any other feeling) but what is the outcome of this ? can one really ignore one’s feeling without suffering.
    i am not even sure I could just say to myself, o.k… myself.. you don’t love this women (or man) anymore. i mean i can chose not to be with one i love but to ignore it..?

    December 10, 2008 at 12:01 pm

  4. ebbtide

    Oh, I relate to this in-between very well. In my experience both sides (in love and not loving) involve a little foolishness. But only one is fun for a while. 🙂

    Wonderfully put.

    December 10, 2008 at 1:24 pm

  5. I agree with what both of you guys are saying. To force oneself to not love does require a bit of suffering and foolishness.

    December 10, 2008 at 3:24 pm

  6. malcolmjames

    The duality in this is more evidence that we live in a world of contradictions. I am guilty of thinking too much about what I should do rather than trusting my intuition to guide me the right way every time. Again, great rhythm.

    December 10, 2008 at 11:09 pm

  7. Mmm, that we do. I think duality somewhat adds to our humanity because it displays our imperfection. I am guilty of overthinking instead of living, too. Thanks for the comment.

    December 10, 2008 at 11:48 pm

Leave a Reply

