Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Aftermath


am i mad?
why do you ask?
i’m fine.
i
think i am
confused,
but not mad,
just a little
messed up
in the head.
i mean,
what really happened?
we met,
became friends,
went on a couple dates
and now i’m
frozen.
but it’s summer.
why am i so cold?
it’s hot in here
but i’m shivering.
i can’t believe
what just took place.
you invaded my space,
took advantage of my weakness and forced yourself upon me
like i was a pair of tight shoes
or a seat on a crowded bus.
you squeezed into my crevices and corners
without invitation
and i’m sitting here cold
and crying
cuz i thought
you were a gentleman.

4 responses

  1. I feel silenced in the face of this. Want only to ask if you are okay, but that sounds so stupid. My thoughts are with you,

    Elizabeth

    December 14, 2008 at 2:51 pm

  2. malcolmjames

    I am so, so very sorry. The healing process will take a long time, but do not despair. It has to take a long time for the healing to be true. Serenity and blessings to you.

    December 14, 2008 at 11:10 pm

  3. Hey guys, thanks for your concern. The poem is about something that occurred in the past, but that was triggered by something I was watching this weekend. I am OK, though. Sorry for any confusion!

    <3,
    Farah

    December 14, 2008 at 11:16 pm

  4. malcolmjames

    Far in the past, I hope.

    December 15, 2008 at 7:16 am

Leave a Reply

