Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Love Me


i want you to love me,
not in that agape unconditional love type way,
but that “please baby please baby please” type way,
that get on your knees and pray
that God answers and allows us
to cross paths again type way,
that you remember my birthday
without Facebook or Myspace type way.
i want to be the last thought on your mind before you sleep
and that hot, sexy dream that wakes you
to make you change your sheets.
i want you to love me,
to wanna meet my mama, my daddy,
my siblings, friends, teachers, coworkers, distant cousins,
neighbors, acquaintances and fellow students,
not so you can stalk me,
but possibly learn how to have an influence
on my life so that one day,
you’ll be in that repertoire of
people to meet.
i want you to love me past my body
and baby, i know it’s banging
and you want to bang me
but here’s a thought–
make love to my insecurities and fears;
thrust your love deep inside to make me cum so hard
that they shake and disappear.
make my soul and future curl so tight
that if this is wrong,
i don’t wanna be right
and if this is dark,
then God shouldn’t let there be light
and because you always make my day,
i never want it to be night.
i don’t even know who you are yet
but i want you to love me,
to confirm that love lasts and exists
outside of stories and movies.
show me the positive side of life
that accompanies love
and maybe you’ll reaffirm my faith
with the Lord above
if i can see right before my eyes
just what it is that He does
and be able once more in my life
to let go
and let love.

5 responses

  1. LD

    WOW Soror! This is great!

    -LD

    January 4, 2009 at 5:23 am

  2. Only one thing to say, I love it!

    Elizabeth

    January 4, 2009 at 12:17 pm

  3. Thanks, both of you!

    January 4, 2009 at 7:52 pm

  4. Adri

    Farah this was amazing!!! I admire your use of words and how effortless it seems to flow out of you. Great job babe!

    January 6, 2009 at 5:02 pm

  5. Thank you, boo!

    January 6, 2009 at 5:08 pm

Leave a Reply

