Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Booty Love


is it me…or did the boys not really notice me
until i woke up one day
and had a big ol’ booty?
this booty redefined me,
took on a personality all her own,
had me thinkin i was grown
from all the words thrown at me
as a result of my popular anomaly.
once, a man “hee-hawed” as he walked behind me
until i used my small hands to cover up my “donkey”.
often called “phat” even though i was skinny
had me feeling like i was living a double life–
sexy on the outside, shy on the inside;
woman with curves that seduce and scream “Sex me!”
when really, i was just a little girl whispering:
“Protect me…Respect me…That’s not me.”
but this booty
has expanded to be more than just a distant relative.
i have grown to love her,
the sister i got from my Nigerian mother.
now both of us smile when necks turn to admire us
or when girls ask if we know any butt exercises
or when every pair of jeans we try on that fits our waist
can’t make it past all of this
because blessed we are
and forever we will be–
me, the young woman,
and my sister–
the booty.

booty-love

4 responses

  1. poeticjourney

    I love this poem! This is sooo true! I always looked at my booty as almost a curse. I would tell my mom my butt got more attention then I did!LOL. This is great I really enjoyed it.

    January 27, 2009 at 3:43 pm

  2. Thank you! And I can definitely relate!

    January 27, 2009 at 7:47 pm

  3. Both my wife and I are quite a bit larger now then we were when me married just over 27 yrs. ago…I knew that this could happen way back then and today I still chose to love her just as I did then…

    March 10, 2009 at 8:36 pm

  4. 1markt

    Do you have some pictures of this early problem and now blessing, that you do not need, for I have the real sense that I have a perfect space for them.
    Sincerely,
    Marcus T.

    May 3, 2010 at 6:22 pm

Leave a Reply

