Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Battle of the Sexes


hardened as i may try to be,
i can’t run away from the fact
that i am in fact,
a woman.
i am strong without a doubt,
able to do whatever i set my mind to,
but inside i am soft as tissue,
sensitive like scarred skin,
delicate as seraphim and cherubim
and spend my energy cherishing
everyone around me.
sometimes the weather gets cloudy
and i forget my anatomy,
think i have pecs instead of breasts,
a mustache above my lips,
unrecognizable hips
and a voice deep and rich as chocolate.

but i am not this basic idea or definition.
i am the kiss on your forehead when your confidence is missing.
i am the gentle touch when trouble gets to be too much
and the loving ear that will always be there.
i care.
i am the mirror on the wall that tells you all,
the pep in your step to take you from one success to the next.
i am a woman,
mother of creation,
removed from your rib so that your stomach is a little empty
so that when you get hungry, you’ll know that you need me.
i am the appetizer, main course, and dessert,
the one that you love but still tend to hurt,
the one who loves you but still likes to search
for herself outside of your help.

i am not the same as you.
we complement each other like orange and blue,
like honey and dew,
sweet and tickling.
oh, what a feeling
to stop pretending
and start claiming
my womanhood.

7 responses

  1. I like your poem.

    February 6, 2009 at 2:13 am

  2. Thank you 🙂

    February 6, 2009 at 3:16 pm

  3. woodsmith59

    Excellent Poem…

    February 7, 2009 at 12:03 am

  4. Thanks! I appreciate that.

    February 7, 2009 at 12:25 am

  5. Your welcome…I found the celebration of your femininity quite refreshing…

    February 7, 2009 at 12:39 am

  6. That’s great to hear. I’m about to check out your page.

    February 7, 2009 at 1:25 am

  7. Thank-you for checking out my page and for leaving a comment. BTW I have subscribed to your blog and will include it as link when I set up the blogroll widget on my page later this weekend.

    February 7, 2009 at 11:09 am

Leave a Reply

