Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

I May Get Lonely Sometimes


i may get lonely sometimes,
question the love of those around me,
long for the feeling of arms around me–
circling, grasping, speaking in the form of squeezing
and making me feel safe in this dangerous world.
but i’m not alone.

i have known alone,
moved into a room in her home,
making my bed every morning
until i was evicted by joy,
pulled out kicking and screaming by love,
and left on the street disappointed by the affirmation
that at times,
i will be lonely
even when i am surrounded by love
from those around me.

you see,
loneliness doesn’t depend on the outside conditions.
loneliness is birthed when a piece of your heart is missing.
beats don’t occur at the same time rhythm
and if you stay there long enough,
you become a victim.

i may get lonely sometimes,
even cry sometimes
and i’ve wept sometimes
and i’ve wanted to die sometimes
but the love that i feel at times
make all those feelings a waste of time,
make me feel like if i just had some time
to count all the times
where i received love i didn’t deserve,
was reminded of my self-worth,
succeeded when life didn’t seem to work
and healed beautifully from pain that hurt me,
then lonely wouldn’t even be
an issue.

i may get lonely sometimes,
but i am filled with love that pushes out emotion
and shines light on truth like
being lonely gives me time to think
and being lonely lets me discover me
and being lonely makes me appreciate company
and laughter and life and love
even more.

so here is to my lonely sometimes.
you will not hold me down this time.
love will prevail
and so will i.

4 responses

  1. Great Poem…Once upon a time loneliness was my greatest fear until I realized that: A) As long as me, myself and I were present I really wasn’t alone and B) That loneliness is a state of mind that can with effort be changed…It was then that I embraced my nearly overwhelming fear of loneliness and embraced it… 🙂

    February 14, 2009 at 7:45 pm

  2. malcolmjames

    Hear Here!

    February 14, 2009 at 10:06 pm

  3. Very well written from the heart. Nice blog!

    February 17, 2009 at 12:39 am

  4. Thanks, all of you!

    February 22, 2009 at 3:07 am

Leave a Reply

