Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Fireflies


i wish i could take
the sensuous gravity of this night
in my hands and place it softly inside a clear jar
to keep for our remembrance.
we innocently brush one another like fireflies.
i cautiously beg you to look at my light
and i flicker in ways i thought were shut off.
let’s not let our air supply get cut off.
this jar has holes cut in its lid;
hopefully reality still finds its way in
so that we invite our brains into our hearts’ decisions.
this encasement, although small,
does not feel like prison,
but freedom.
free me as you hold me,
hold me,
hold me,
and when it’s time to let go,
do so
and let me fly
until we meet again,
my more than friend.fireflies

5 responses

  1. ebbtide

    simply beautiful and elegantly expressed… very well done!

    February 22, 2009 at 3:25 am

  2. Thank you!

    February 23, 2009 at 6:06 pm

  3. This is sensual but so soft and gentle, filled with hope and yearning. I love it,

    Elizabeth

    February 24, 2009 at 11:16 am

  4. ‘my more then friend’ – very very good line

    February 27, 2009 at 5:37 am

  5. Thanks, guys! And Elizabeth, I was definitely feeling soft and gentle when I wrote it–I’m glad you picked up on that.

    February 27, 2009 at 10:54 am

Leave a Reply

