Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Um…What’s going on?


Hi everyone,

For those of you who are still faithful to my blog, you may be wondering why I haven’t been posting lately.  The answer is…I have been swamped!!!

I have been dealing with family emergencies, performing with my collective, The Saartjie Project, in our last show called “R/evolution: Deconstructing the Myth of the Booty”, getting cast in a production of “Native Son” (by Richard Wright), and trying to figure out life in my quarter-century year.

News-wise, my one-woman show has been accepted into the Capital Fringe Festival in Washington, D.C.!  I’m so excited!  The show will feature much of my poetry.  More details will follow as the festival approaches, but it will be from July 9-26th in Washington, D.C.

“So what does all that have to do with Pearls from Pain?” you may ask…I will still write poems and post, but I can no longer guarantee that it will be daily.  Bear with me.  Inspiration is all around me and hopefully it makes it on here as often as possible.  Thanks to everyone who has ever visited, commented, etc.  You are appreciated and I hope that the site will still be worthwhile to you.

Peace and love,

Farah

6 responses

  1. wolfshowl

    Congratulations on all the good news, Farah! You’re an inspiration.

    March 10, 2009 at 8:30 am

  2. Thank you!!!

    March 10, 2009 at 10:54 am

  3. 🙂

    March 10, 2009 at 8:32 pm

  4. Exciting news. Wish I could get to the show/s. You have done so much and so well. Being me, I hope you continue to write whether it makes it here or not. That’s basic. Wishing you the best of everything as your dream unfolds.

    Will periodically check back to catch up and listen, you are one hell of an example, woman. Thank you for being exactly who you are,

    Elizabeth

    March 11, 2009 at 11:21 am

  5. bomi

    If only Washington D.C. was in the same continent as South Africa! Bummer!
    I’m so proud of your success, Farah… and The Saartjie Project, visited the site and I love the idea, wish I could see at least one of the shows. Sarah Baartman’s story is a very sad one, you can see why it’s taken my country so long to reconcile.
    Thank you for celebrating the black female body.

    March 14, 2009 at 1:27 pm

  6. Thank you, Bomi!

    March 28, 2009 at 11:24 am

Leave a Reply

