Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Wet Feet


new touch with an old face
but fresh feelings.
it’s funny–the old me
was too numb to even know
that these nerves existed,
that i could be myself in my own skin,
that you’d appreciate my blemishes;
that i can lay back and be silly
without false pretenses.

i’ve pretended
that i’m ok with being lonely forever
and the hurt i faced in the past
had me thinking that i would never
open arms again
or kiss lips again
or dare to wish again
but i see him again
and yesterday melts like ice cubes in the summer,
new experiences wash over me like water
and i kind of like
getting my feet wet.

7 responses

  1. i like it

    March 17, 2009 at 8:00 am

  2. 🙂 Great poem…Been there and done that which is why today I’m a lot more careful to whom I open up my heart too.

    March 17, 2009 at 8:48 pm

  3. poeticgrin

    Your poem is like a much needed exhale…

    Ice melting in summer. Wonderful image and a longed-for sensation in contrast to the heat.

    I like how the ice melting is brought back around in the image of wet feet.

    March 18, 2009 at 1:11 pm

  4. Really glad to see you back here. And particularly like the emotions you evoke in this one. They were strong enough to bring you back, lol, and that is good to see, as well as know. Thank you,

    Elizabeth

    March 22, 2009 at 8:57 pm

  5. Thanks to all of you for your comments!

    March 28, 2009 at 11:25 am

  6. Maya

    I really love this. Getting my feet wet. Such a crsip yet sensual image. Farah… I love you. You amaze me.

    March 29, 2009 at 12:12 pm

  7. Thanks, Maya. I love you too, girl!

    March 30, 2009 at 10:22 am

Leave a Reply

