Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Old Me


i now sometimes wonder where
the old me went.
did she die a miserable death
to match her painful existence?
or does she live in my chest,
keeping my heart beating
through reminders of what she used to be?
or maybe she still lives in me,
a skinny, emaciated girl
underneath the skin of a woman
who smiles even when she’s sleeping now.

her tears keep me hydrated
and her scars only make me more beautiful.
her pain i wear like a necklace of rememberance,
perfect pearls all unique. wherever she went,
i’m happy she’s not as present
when i look in the mirror,
glad that when i dance now,
she’s not stepping on my feet.

she kisses my feet now,
washes them with tears
and absorbs the fluid in her afro hair.
she serves me
and is near,
perhaps closer than i think she is.

i think she is me–
only happy.

2 responses

  1. I like this. Tears as hydration, cleansing.

    May 16, 2009 at 9:07 pm

  2. margarethall

    Incredibly insightful…A delight to read. You have given us a balance between the old and new….Lovely

    June 17, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Leave a Reply

