Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Shadows


when i was a little girl,
i was not afraid of the dark,
but of shadows.
cluttered closet in Mama’s room
influenced the curious mind of a girl
too soon scared of the unknown.

i saw witches,
evil ones with big noses
and if i closed my eyes for long enough,
i could kind of hear them cackling.
maybe they concocted brews
and poured them into my orifices
once my restless eyes were rescued by sleep.

that is the only reason i can think of
as to why twenty years later,
shadows in my cluttered bedroom
make me turn on night lights.
shadows turn into figures in my overactive sight
and figures transform into men
lurking on the corners of my memory.
only this night,
i win.
i will sleep.

2 responses

  1. iWrite

    Wow, that was awesome.

    June 17, 2009 at 1:09 pm

  2. margarethall

    Hello, Farah…..I was drawn down the post of “Shadow”, as you let the reader see the fear of the younger person, then transferred to now…Done nicely…
    I will revisit soon…
    My Poetry Blog-
    http://imagesinthought.blogspot.com
    This wordpress is just thoughts and blog..

    June 17, 2009 at 10:23 pm

Leave a Reply

