Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

How Big Poems Are


is there room for honesty?
maybe in a poem.
in poems,
apartments don’t exist
and clutter has a chance to breathe.
normally compartmentalized minds
finally get time to spread out,
lay down and just be.

maybe poems have room for honesty,
living rooms for me to confess my shyness and sexuality,
dining rooms for verbal gluttony
and plush couches for me to sit and talk
about what’s bothering me.

poems have room for honesty–
bedrooms for me to whisper my innermost thoughts
when i can’t sleep
and basements that coax out
the parts of me nobody sees.

since poems have room for honesty,
will you pack a suitcase
and come stay with me?
there is space for all of our
insecurities.
and not only that–
there is a kitchen where you and i
can cook new possibilities.

poems have room
and hopefully one day
the rest of the world will catch on,
receive one another with open arms,
tearing their clothes of judgment
til we are all naked and free–
til we all have room
for honesty.

3 responses

  1. I like the fact that poems have room,
    for friends to knock on the door, come inside, and relate too!

    January 17, 2010 at 9:49 pm

  2. Brilliant. Absolutely magnificent. Glad we are neighbors on Poet Lane. 🙂

    January 30, 2010 at 12:31 am

  3. Thank you both!

    February 3, 2010 at 12:24 pm

Leave a Reply

