Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

The Time of the Month Blues


pain, cramping, bloating;
blood clots, tear drops, emoting;
gas pain, headache, egg waste.

void of child and patience;
one more month of freedom;
emotional clock still works
(strong batteries run in my family).

caged body, sweaty forehead, foreign smell;
gross-feeling, penis-envying, horny as hell;
quiet, reflective, sensitive.

28 days are not long enough.
7 days are just too much.
but at least I’m still young enough–
either that or life has a slow way of catching up.

whatever it is,
whenever it is this time of the month,
my heavy breasts make my heart sink a little;
each body part that once was little
grows before my eyes
as my capacity to deal with it all shrinks.

potential life exits
only to recreate its possibility
again and again.

3 responses

  1. My sentiments EXACTLY, Farah! The menstrual cycle is the one part of womanhood that the feminist movement has yet to embrace. What good can be said of it?!?! It’s one of those things that you don’t need … until you need it (and geez that won’t be for a while!)

    Keep the creative juices flowing! (Pun intended) Lol.

    August 18, 2010 at 10:25 am

  2. void of child and patience;
    one more month of freedom;
    each body part that once was little
    grows before my eyes
    as my capacity to deal with it all shrinks.

    I am fearful of the shot because you don’t get periods. As dreadful as my fours days are, and my psycho five predays, I welcome the peace of mind shedding brings. You write this with a woman’s intuition but keep all the emotions I would out. Your taste and editing weaves an understanding that is uniting between all women.

    August 24, 2010 at 3:19 pm

  3. Hey there
    Like to invite to the a Tuesday prompt page;

    https://nangso.wordpress.com/

    hope to see ya there
    WOIH

    September 8, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Leave a Reply

