Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Could You Spare Some Change?


could you spare some change?
it’s been a while since i’ve been fed,
but i’m still alive and kicking…
at least in my head.

“could you spare some change?”
i whisper quietly as you pass my way,
hoping you’ll notice that
i haven’t been fed today.

could you spare some change?
i know you got other obligations,
but i want to catch you
before my train leaves this station.

could you spare some change?
it might help you to see
that i am not who i appear to be.
i am not a homeless woman standing in the street;
i am the dream that gnaws at you when you can’t fall asleep;
i am the voice in your head that says,
“This job is not for me.”
i am your purpose,
what God intended for you to be;
but it’ll be hard for us to meet
if you can’t afford me.

so i ask again,
could you spare some change?

3 responses

  1. Oh…a simple “Wow!’ pretty much covers my reaction to this poem.

    March 6, 2012 at 6:17 pm

  2. Pingback: I’m Black, I’m Awkward, and I’m a Christian « ComeDyandKryptonite

Leave a Reply

