Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

I Left It There With the Intention


i left a piece of my heart
in your pants pocket—
left it there with the intention
of it enduring the storms and heat
of washer and dryer cycles;
left it there with the intention
of it getting creased,
covered in the warmth of lint
and cooled by the metal of a misplaced dime.

forgotten too.

i left it there just in case
you start desperately digging one day
and your fingers find it,
pull it out of where it was hidden
and rediscover it
as if it were never there
and chuckle to yourself,
never realizing it was with you
all the while you were begging
for all of me.

this whole time,
you still had a piece.

5 responses

  1. The poem to me had such a warm tone and comfortable tone to it…like wearing your favorite jeans.

    March 9, 2012 at 7:30 pm

  2. lilkunta

    I like this idea. Perhaps if we all could really reach into our pockets and recall the love we have in life/waiting/enveloping us humans wouldn’t cheat? So many times we hear ‘i felt abanded’ ‘you werent there for me’ etc, but if we could reach into our pockets for love then we’d remember the love and not do foul things? Or I am I just naive ?

    March 18, 2012 at 8:14 am

    • Great questions that I don’t know how to answer 🙂 I don’t think you’re naive though, only an optimist like me.

      March 18, 2012 at 9:10 am

  3. This poem is very gentle and warm. Thank you for sharing this! 🙂

    Subhan Zein

    May 25, 2012 at 9:35 pm

Leave a Reply

