Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Full



i’ve got that
“newlywed happy love” weight;
that
“you’ve filled my heart and tummy
and now i can’t button my jeans” weight;
that
“i’ll take a slice of you
with extra whipped cream” weight.

your love is salty caramel sweet;
your words are hot sauce when i’m fried chicken
and your kiss is like a whole Maine lobster
with extra melted butter
and i’m hungry!
feed me!

always satisfy my appetite for your love.
even when i think i’m stuffed,
i haven’t had enough.
you have added pounds to my life
that i cherish
and carry with me proudly.

i am full
of you.

2 responses

  1. lilkunta

    O my you’ve married. when? where? CONGRADS.
    You are beaming in this pic!

    Now ‘Heart Kiss’ makes more sense. If only I had read it first.
    I do have a subscription but didnt get this nor ‘Can You spare Change’ .
    I only rec’d notice of ‘My Grandparents…’ & ‘Heart Kiss’.

    I’ve heard of newlywed/marriage weight, it must be fantastic. Enjoy. You’re happy.

    March 18, 2012 at 8:06 am

Leave a Reply

