Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Heart Kiss


if you gave me permission to kiss your heart,
not just the skin on your chest that protects it—
the pecs i’ve greeted with warm and greedy pecks
past the number if times deemed to be polite;
not just familiar and smooth brown skin,
but that deep and scary thing that lies within—
i’d first have to hide my embarrassing grin.

i’d tiptoe up to your beating red flesh nervously,
take note of your vulnerability
and marvel at the sight before me
and at how before this day, in blood,
i never saw beauty.
i’d check my breath and wipe my sweaty palms on my pants
before softly kissing it with parted lips and folded hands.

i would set up residence in all four of your chambers,
curl up and read the book of your soul,
highlight all the secrets you’re still afraid to tell me;
dog-ear the pages of your insecurities
French-kiss your pain and lick your wounds,
digest them to make them mine.

but they’re already mine.
you have unraveled the helixes of my DNA
and genetically altered and doubled us
into a four-strand cord impossible to break;
victimized my veins
and transformed them from kidnapped to kin;
taught me choreography to a rhythm once new
but now true.

boom-boom
boom-boom
boom-boom:
the pulse of
our hearts.
our kiss.
our love.

3 responses

  1. Juliet Bance

    love this poem…….love it.

    March 17, 2012 at 11:10 am

  2. lilkunta

    ‘and marvel at the sight before me
    and at how before this day, in blood,
    i never saw beauty”

    Woah Farah! You in love? This is so detailed and specific and moving.
    I love how you detail different parts of the heart.
    Go head girl!

    March 18, 2012 at 7:55 am

    • Yes I am! Thanks, girl! 🙂

      March 18, 2012 at 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

