Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

God Made You


i believe that when God made you,
He purposed you for me;
chose the curves of your lips carefully
to hug each crevice of my own
so that each time you kiss me,
my soul feels at home.

i believe that when God made you,
He labored over your eyes
until they were bright and brown enough
to look into mine and become a mirror,
allowing me to see my best self
through His view and your help.

i believe that when God made you,
He selected the perfect size and stature for you to fit me
like two pieces of a completed puzzle under a dusty rug,
grown tighter with age so that it would take more than a tug
to separate us.

i believe that when God made you,
He created your heart to be a consoler of my tears;
formed your ears to be caverns for my fears;
manipulated your mouth to be slow to speak until you hear;
beautifully selected your body to be one i revere;
powerfully conceived your existence as proof that He’s near.

i believe that God made you
fearfully, wonderfully,
purposed, intended,
magically, exclusively,
generously
for me.

5 responses

  1. Juliet Bance

    A beautiful poem.

    July 11, 2012 at 4:18 am

  2. Thank you!

    July 11, 2012 at 10:25 am

  3. lilkunta

    Wow Farah I ddint know you felt this way about me. J K.
    THis poem is so fantastic. If not already shared this is a gerat Valentine gift for your Husband.
    How did you all do post derecho? We were out all week until 830 friday. Had to empty refridgerator. Took meat in deep freezer to uncle’s. This is what, the 3rd summer of this/? Pepco has to do better! We’re in the US not in Naija dealing with NEPA!

    July 12, 2012 at 6:14 am

    • Haha Lola! Thanks so much! Thankfully, we didn’t lose any power–my parents did for a couple days and then it was resotred. Glad you and your family fared well!

      July 12, 2012 at 12:27 pm

  4. Hi there! This is my 1st comment here so
    I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I
    really enjoy reading your posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over
    the same topics? Thanks a ton!

    June 3, 2014 at 1:15 am

Leave a Reply

