Poetry by Farah Lawal Harris

Love Letter to My Dreams


to get to you,
i will jump–
no–dive–
into an ice cold pool,
not knowing how to swim well, stay in my lane
or hold my breath for a long time;
not knowing the difference
between a breast stroke and butterfly,
only having a loose plan to freestyle
and hope i make it
with my pure unadulterated desire,
naive hope
that somehow,
i’ll stay afloat.
they may need to push me in,
but damnit,
when that time comes
i’ll happily oblige,
doggy paddle for miles and miles,
tread water just for the chance
of grabbing a thread of the fiber of you,
that same fiber that makes me
me.

3 responses

  1. Love does embolden us to do what we never thought we’d try. 🙂

    July 11, 2012 at 4:37 pm

  2. lilkunta

    Will I be so in love 1 day that I’d jump into water?
    Bc gurl youknow I cant get my hair wet!

    J K.
    But seriously Im deathly afraid of water so if love so moves me that is scary but exciting.

    July 12, 2012 at 6:28 am

  3. I love this. The mental image of “come hell or high water” is riveting and it struck a chord in me. By any means necessary. That means so much more now than it ever has.

    July 17, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Leave a Reply

